Basic questions about constant pH simulation

GROMACS version: 2019.3/intel-2018
GROMACS modification: Don’t know
Here post your question

Hi, I’m a beginner at Gromacs and I want to use Gromacs to run MDs at different temperatures, pHs, and ionic strengths. I’m looking at your constant pH simulation page where it is said

The ideal situation would be to have a constant-pH algorithm to perform the MD simulations. However, conventional explicit-solvent MD algorithms cannot do that, since they’re constant-H+ algorithms.

I was just wondering i) why it’s ideal to have a constant-pH to perform MD, and ii) why constant-H+ is not equal to constant-pH? Apologies if this question is too basic.

Many thanks.

A solution that exists at a given pH means there are dissociable protons around, and that groups can change their protonation states as a function of their chemical environment and the dynamics in the system. Such a situation is not possible with conventional MD, because it involves dynamic changes to the topology, which requires a specific technique called constant-pH MD, which allows the topology to change over time. This is “ideal” in the sense that it reflects physical reality.

As noted at the linked page (please note this is a very old document and constant-pH methods are not actually formally supported by GROMACS but a new implementation is on the way), even at extremely acidic pH, the number of H+ that would exist in a typical simulation box would be effectively zero. So one does not worry about changes in protonation state; we call that constant-H+ (or constant protonation state) because we treat all species in the system in their predominant state at that pH (given the pKa values of titratable groups and take that as representative of the system at equilibrium, and the protonation states do not change.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer.