Calculating RMSF if the reference structure is broken across PBC

GROMACS version: 2020.3

GROMACS modification: No
Here post your question:

Hello everyone,

I would like to discuss about RMSF calculation, if the protein happens to be broken over the periodic boundary at the start of the production run. Most of the gromacs tutorials online suggest using the run input file as the reference structure on a cleaned trajectory -

echo “Protein” | gmx convert-tpr -s run.tpr -o protein.tpr
echo -e “Protein\nProtein” | gmx trjconv -f traj.xtc -s run.tpr -o traj_clean.xtc -center -ur compact -pbc mol
echo -e “C-alpha\nC-alpha” | gmx rmsf -f traj_clean.xtc -s protein.tpr -o rmsf.xvg

but I think a broken protein molecule would produce a wrong RMSF plot. Since it is not possible to alter the tpr file and make the protein whole, a pdb having the unbroken protein seems like a better choice for the reference structure. I am new to gromacs and it would be very helpful if the more experienced users can provide some advice.

For some context, I am doing an MD simulation of a protein in water, with two replicates. But the RMSF plots do not match between the replicates (Figure 1). Since new users cannot have more than 1 image in a post, I have uploaded the images to this google drive folder.

Upon closer inspection, I realized that the protein was broken across the periodic boundary at time t=0 in replicate B but not in A. This was because before the production run of 600ns, I had an NPT equilibration step of 10ns, during which the protein drifted out of the box in replicate B.