Fatal error: Residue "NAG' not found in residue topology database

GROMACS version:
GROMACS modification: Yes/No
Here post your question
Hello,

I have a glycan that is a part of my PEGylated protein and it gives me this error, is there a way around this? I am new to GROMACS and am unsure from the documentation how I can do this to run a MD simulation. Will the PEG also cause issues as well? Is there another software that can run the simulation. It is fairly large. Thanks in advance.

Program: gmx pdb2gmx, version 2020.1-Ubuntu-2020.1-1
Source file: src/gromacs/gmxpreprocess/resall.cpp (line 557)

Fatal error:
Residue ‘NAG’ not found in residue topology database

For more information and tips for troubleshooting, please check the GROMACS
website at Common Errors — GROMACS webpage https://www.gromacs.org documentation

Did you visit the link provided? This is one of the most common errors users encounter, and gets asked constantly on the forum. If a residue is not already defined in the force field, you can’t use pdb2gmx to produce its topology. There is more information in the link.

Yes I did and it mentions the x2top, because the pdb2gmx can’t be used. I am still learning, so I think what I was curious about is if I did the:

gmx x2top -f xxxxx.pdb -o xxxxx.gro , would this work?

I have a glycan and PEG associated in the pdb file. So I am trying to figure out a way to calculate free energy and predictability of the binding affinities to the receptor. I know the receptor/antipeg and receptor/PEG bind but there is a decrease and I want to know why?

gmx 2xtop -f xxxx.pdb -o xxxxx.top ** excuse me this is was I meant, Would this foresee issues, it is running now. But it has this warning:

WARNING: all CONECT records are ignored
Opening force field file /usr/share/gromacs/top/oplsaa.ff/atomname2type.n2t
There are 23 name to type translations in file oplsaa.ff