Gmx select

GROMACS version: 2020.1
GROMACS modification: No
I have a lamellar system consisting of four bilayers. After the equilibration run, the bilayers get diffused. So now I want to split each bilayer and do a separate analysis. For separating each bilayer I am using gmx select tool, but every time it is giving me a syntax error. Like I have tried - “group 0 30 < z < 40” and also “resname PPG within 40 of PPT” and then “group 0 z > 30 & z < 40”. But none of the selection criteria is working. All of them are giving me the same syntax error. So can anyone can help me in getting the right selection criteria, as I am totally new to using gmx select command. Though I have gone to the manual and read about selection tools and methods it is not helping much. I am attaching a snapshot of my system. I want to select all atoms within the z ranging from 30nm to 40nm.
Screenshot from 2021-08-26 13-11-22

Hi Ezio,

a couple of siggestions:

• have you tried parsing an auxillary variable?
  • have you tried using ‘and’ instead of ‘&’?

Examples:
resname PPG and z > 30 and z < 40
or maybe something like:
rdist = res_com distance from ...
resname PPG and rdist < ...

Thanks for the suggestion. I have tried the following:
gmx select -f …/…/npt.xtc -s …/…/npt.tpr -select ‘name GL1 and z>32.257 and z<42.379’ -b 5000000 -e 5000000 -on output.ndx and its working. But one hindrance I am facing is that it is selecting only the GL1 atoms and not the complete molecules which have GL1 as one of the atoms. Can you please comment on that?

Yes, a ‘crude’ selection will indeed split molecules apart.
If you want to select whole molecules instead of single atoms, you should use the res_com directive and parse an auxillary variable

E.g.
> zc = res_com z
> resname RES and zc>32.257 and zc<42.379

It is probably better in this case to pass a text file via cat <file_name> | gmx select ..., since the selection syntax may become a bit verbose