Is there a possibility that certain atoms (HO) deleted by an update?

GROMACS version: 2022.03
GROMACS modification: No
Here post your question

Dear experts.

I’m a novice user who is trying to generate tpr file of POPG membrane with grompp.
It has been failed because the distributed POPG itp files include HO, which is not included in gromos53a6_lipid.ff, or other gromos43a1~54a7 (while existing in amber99.ff).

HO frequently appears in distributed lipids’ files and those file’s introductions are saying that ‘if you use Peter Tieleman’s lipid parameters (and tutorial), it would work.’
(POPG of the Karttunen Group: SoftSimu - Downloadables: Software, parameters )
(POPG of the Elmore Lab: Untitled Document )

However, I should conclude that it is impossible (although my understanding of GROMACS is not much).
The information of atom (HO) in popg.itp and popg.pdb files are not provided in forcefield.itp. There is no way for grompp to generate tpr file.

So it seems to me that atom HO once had been existed in GROMOS53a6 before, but deleted or replaced at some point. So although it would work before, it would not work now.

In that case, I would start to find and check a previous version of GROMACS.
But I fear that it would be a meaningless effort based on my ignorance.

So I want to ask a question; Is my assume is delusive? Have any atoms been deleted as updates before?

Thanks for your time and attention.

Hi,

Rather than going into the specifics of the issue, it’s important to say that unless there is a very good reason you shouldn’t use either of the PG lipid parameters you linked to (so those based upon the Berger PC lipids). These parameters don’t behave well (see https://pubs.acs.org/doi/10.1021/jp900645z) with very ordered membranes and unusual structures in the glycerol head group.