Oscillating external force

I think I asked about this before… Is there any obscure way to impose a sinusoidal force acting on a given group of particles in the system? Not through electric fields acting on charged stuff, but as mechanical excitation.

If not, how likely for such a feature request to be successful? :)

Thanks!

We already had an internal suggestion to implement this. As in the 2022 release we have a mathematical expression parser for pull coordinates, it would be rather easy to add in time as a variable and then the user could do anything time dependent they like.

If you know a bit about coding, it wouldn’t be too hard to add it yourself. We would accept such a feature.

I have zero knowledge of the Gromacs code, unfortunately. I wish I had the bandwidth to learn it and contribute…
I was asking if the team could implement it if requested, and you said that this was already discussed internally. If this was released as an early-version undocumented feature, I would be very happy to test it on an actual system. We have an urgent need for it and for now the only realistic option is to recreate the entire system in the uber-slow LAMMPS to do the wiggling…

If someone agreed to do this privately and it yielded the expected phenomena, it would be highly publishable and I am happy to offer coauthorship. Even in the diffusive regime (the least fun, in my opinion), things have already been shown to be rather interesting: Transport and dispersion across wiggling nanopores | Nature Physics
I think a long time ago Justin mentioned he might be up for it, but I may remember incorrectly. In any case, it would be a very useful feature.

I guess no traction on this one…

I implemented the feature and uploaded an MR:

Thanks so much, Berk! Are there any notes on the use of a sinusoidal force applied to a selected group?Again, thanks.