Protein-Peptide MD Simulations

GROMACS version:
GROMACS modification: Yes/No
Here post your question

Hello,

I’m new to this field and want some guidance. I have done docking of a protein and a peptide, and I’d like to perform MD Simulations. Should I take the Protein-Peptide complex post docking as a starting structure and follow the “Protein in solvent” ? Or I should follow the “Protein-Ligand” tutorial?

If the peptide is just made up of the standard amino acids, then just the “Protein in solvent” tutorial for the simulation steps should be fine. For the analysis of the simulation, “Protein-Ligand” is definitely worth taking a look at since it involves analyzing interactions between the 2 molecules.

The “Protein-Ligand” tutorial involves the case where the forcefield doesn’t have the topology information for the ligand before-hand, so it takes you through the process of preparing the novel topology incorporating it into the system topology and temperature-coupling groups, but apart from that, the steps for solvation, minimization, equilibration and production md are basically the same.

Thanks, for the response. Yes, the peptide is made up of standard amino acids, and I was able to do “Protein-Peptide complex” MD Simulation following “Protein in water” tutorial without any issues.

But when I tried “Protein-Ligand” tutorial there were many issues that I came across. When I have treated “peptide” as “ligand” in this case.
I used pdb2gmx to generate topology files for both protein and peptide. And there were confusions while editing topol.top file. And following steps were messed up…

Since, “Peptide” is also considered as “Protein” by gromacs. Is there a way to distinguish between these two groups “Protein” and “Peptide”? I’m unable to visualise protein and peptide separately, like when I type “protein” in “Selected Atoms” in VMD that shows “protein + peptide”.