Selections for gmx distance/ gmx mindist / gmx pairdist

GROMACS version: 2021.4, 2021.3 and 2019.2 (depending on machine)
GROMACS modification: Not

I am studying the adsorption of pollutants onto amorphous carbon surfaces using MD and would like to use the gmx distance analysis tools to analyse my trajectories:

1. I would like to calculate the distance between pollutant and surface across my equilibration runs - I believe this can be done using gmx mindist

2. I would like to calculate the avg. distance between pollutant and surface across my production runs (after simulation is converged) - I believe this can be done with gmx distance / gmx pairdist

I have created an index for each of my simulations - groups include system, solvent, ions, pollutant, pollutant FGs (e.g. aromatic groups or acidic groups), the amorphous carbon, and the surface atoms of the amorphous carbon (calculated using pytim).

What I am confused about is how the selections in gmx mindist, gmx distance and gmx pairdist are treated and whether the results are averaged. I have looked through the manual pages for all three but still feel a bit confused as to how these work.

1. gmx mindist: does a selection of pollutant and surface atoms calculate the minimum distance between any pollutant atom and any surface atom at any time in my trajectory or is it somehow averaged across all residues? (i.e. in my case, if one pollutant is adsorbed but all the rest are in still solution how will this look in mindist?)

2. gmx distance: I am confused by this part of the manual

Note that gmx distance calculates distances between fixed pairs (1-2, 3-4, etc.) within a single selection. To calculate distances between two selections, including minimum, maximum, and pairwise distances, use gmx pairdist.

1. (cont) how does this translate into the selections? Does it infact imply that my index group should include both surface atoms and pollutants in order to calculate distances between these?