The largest distance between non-perturbed excluded atoms ERROR

GROMACS version: 2022.1
GROMACS modification: No

Hello, I’m still fairly new to GROMACS but have been managing to make runs of my small guest-host systems (as preparation for RBFE) in water. Apart from some minimisation reluctance, they seemed to work fine.

Now, I’ve tried using a setup with the chloroform (one from Gromacs User Contributions) and for some complexes, it stubbornly claims:

ERROR 1 [file em_rev.mdp]:
The largest distance between non-perturbed excluded atoms is 1.693 nm,
which is larger than the cut-off distance. This will lead to missing
long-range corrections in the forces and energies.

This distance is almost as large as my host structure. It is also overall almost completely rigid, hence I would not expect these ends to interact anyway.
I wouldn’t have thought it is the solvent’s fault, but it is the only difference between the runs.

Otherwise I was using default mdp settings:
; Electrostatics
coulombtype = PME
rcoulomb = 1.2
; van der Waals
vdwtype = cutoff
vdw-modifier = force-switch
rvdw-switch = 1.0
rvdw = 1.2

Great thanks in advance!!
Kate

My guess is that something has gone wrong with periodic boundary conditions and a chloroform molecule is broken over PBC in the structure file used for solvating your system. If that is the case, you need to make it whole again or use another structure file with whole molecules.

Hm, I was under the impression that the chcl3_box indeed had whole molecules and therefore simulations with small molecules (in this case: glycine anhydride, 14 atoms) actually work without this error message. The problem appears for the slightly larger (146 atoms total) system.

In either case, are there any other sources of chloroform solvation models that do not have casually breaking molecules? I was under the impression that the solvation algorithm can only place whole molecules anyway. Is this not so?

Thanks in advance!
Kate