Abysmal MD production performance on GPU node

GROMACS version: 2023.2
GROMACS modification: No (I think)

Dear GMX users,

I’m new to running GROMACS on HPC clusters and I’m currently running test simulations with my system of interest to learn how to run simulations efficiently in the hardware. The issue that I am encountering is this: My system is relatively big, and when I run the simulation in one node with 40 cores, I get a performance of 21.5 ns/day. When I run the same simulation in a node with the same amount of cores plus a GPU, the performance drops to about 14 ns/day. I made another test with a small protein, and the difference is even more shocking: 173 and 16 ns/day without and with the GPU, respectively.

The big system contains a tetrameric protein with ~400 aa-long subunits and a total of 260 272 atoms after solvation. The small system contains the classic lysozyme and a total of 23 961 atoms.

The nodes have an Intel(R) Xeon(R) Gold 6230 CPU @ 2.10GHz and 192 GB RAM available (I request 150 GB). The GPU node has one NVIDIA Tesla V100 GPU card. There is another node type available, with 20 cores, an NVIDIA Tensor Core A100 card, and 400 GB RAM available. However, I never tested this one.

My job script contains:

module load gcc/9.4.0
module load openmpi/gcc/64/1.10.2
module load cuda/toolkit/11.8.0
module load gromacs/2023.2

NPROCS=`wc -l < $PBS_NODEFILE`
export OMP_NUM_THREADS=1
export GMX_ENABLE_DIRECT_GPU_COMM=1
export GMX_CUDA_GRAPH=1

The following commands were use for the CPU and GPU-based simulations, respectively:

mpirun -np 36 gmx_mpi mdrun -deffnm md_0_1

mpirun -np 36 gmx_mpi mdrun -deffnm md_0_1 -nb gpu -bonded cpu -pme cpu -update gpu

I didn’t find any errors or warnings in the job logs of the GPU runs, but there is this information in the MD log:

Command line:
  gmx_mpi mdrun -deffnm md_0_1 -nb gpu -bonded cpu -pme cpu -update gpu

GROMACS version:    2023.2
Precision:          mixed
Memory model:       64 bit