GROMACS Tutorial Umbrella Sampling

GROMACS version: 2021.2
GROMACS modification: Yes/No

Hello everyone, I am new to GROMACS and I am studying tutorial 3 umbrella sampling. I got some problems at the beginning of this tutorial.

1. At the second step, I tried to use vmd to visualize the location of the protofibril within the box by the command line:

vmd > pbc box

The terminal showed the following without the image:

molinfo: get: no molecule exists with id -1

1. I skipped this error and went to step 3 (Solvate and add ions), when I ran the following command line:

gmx grompp -f ions.mdp -c solv.gro -p topol.top -o ions.tpr

It does not output the ions.tpr and has one warning:

The GROMOS force fields have been parametrized with a physically incorrect multiple-time-stepping scheme for a twin-range cut-off. When used with a single-range cut-off (or a correct Trotter multiple-time-stepping scheme), physical properties, such as the density, might differ from the intended values. Since there are researchers actively working on validating GROMOS with modern integrators we have not yet removed the GROMOS force fields, but you should be aware of these issues and check if molecules in your system are affected before proceeding. Further information is available at https://redmine.gromacs.org/issues/2884 , and a longer explanation of our decision to remove physically incorrect algorithms can be found at https://doi.org/10.26434/chemrxiv.11474583.v1 .

Any reply would be appreciated!

I don’t have any idea about the VMD issue.