Ligand binding free energy in a burried pocket

GROMACS version: 2023.1
GROMACS modification: Yes/No

I am performing binding free energy calculations for a protein-ligand system using fep_lambdas for decoupling. Among them, I turned on the couple-intramol = yes, which led me to need to perform decoupled calculations on the ligand under the four systems:

A: complex_in_solution 
B: complex_in_vacuum
C: ligand_in_solution
D: ligand_in_vacuum

After the calculation, I found that there was almost no difference in the energy difference from the BAR calculation for system A and B (for each system I did three repeated calculations). Meanwhile, I checked the BAR calculation results of system C and D, and the ligand dissolution free energy subtracted from the two systems was similar to the result obtained after I turned off the couple-intramol.

I think the small energy difference between A and B stems from the fact that the ligand-binding site I studied is a binding pocket that is deeply buried in the interior of the protein (PDB: 6B6G). This leads to the fact that in complex system, the environment around ligand is similar both in solution and in vacuum (I counted that in system A, the number of accessible water molecules around ligand is less than 10).

So I think that for this complex system, even though the couple-intramol is turned on, only calculating the energy difference between the A and C systems can still return valuable binding free energy information.

I would like to know whether my analysis and conclusion are reasonable, welcome to give comments, thank you!

Simulation B is not necessary to perform (as you almost conclude).

Think of it like this. When calculating the absolute binding free energy in the binding site you want the process:
Protein + Ligand → Ligand in vacuum.
and when you calculate the absolute solvation free energy you want the process:
Solvent + Ligand → Ligand in vacuum.