New GROMACS user

GROMACS version: gromacs/2018_gpu
GROMACS modification:
Here post your question
I am a new user of GROMACS software package, I have a couple of questions:

1. I am trying to run it over PSC bridges (XSEDE account) so is there anyone using it this platform to run jobs?
  2. I am also new to molecular dynamic simulations, although I have reached a stage where I can generate the topology files for protein and ligand but totally confused about how to proceed further.

The PSC user guide has some examples of how to load and use GROMACS but the documentation is a bit sparse and they warn that the user should be well acquainted with routine GROMACS usage before trying to submit jobs. There is a GPU-enabled version and likely a normal parallelized (OpenMP and/or MPI) version available.

Might I suggest some tutorials, particularly: Protein-Ligand Complex

Make sure you’re familiar with routine GROMACS protocols before trying to do something complicated that involves topology hacking. Learn to walk before you run :)

1 Like

Thank you for the response @jalemkul, I read some papers regarding its application and also the tutorial on how to use GROMACS but its implementation over XSEDE is a bit difficult. It would be a great help if you can connect me with someone who uses GROMACS over XSEDE for running simulations.

Thank you.

hi @jakemkul. Thanks for your attention to Amar’s problem. I have looked at Amar’s files on Bridges 2 and the error that he is getting is:

Fatal error:
56 particles communicated to PME rank 2 are more than 2/3 times the cut-off
out of the domain decomposition cell of their charge group in dimension x.
This usually means that your system is not well equilibrated.

I see that error has been reported on the Gromacs Forum on March 2 with the title:
Domain decomposition on multiple ranks.