Parallelization

GROMACS version: 5.0.7
GROMACS modification: Yes/No
Here post your question
Hello.
I am studying polymers and I am running Gromacs in a “University cluster” which has multiple nodes and each node has a number of cores (8, 16, 32, etc). The gromacs is not compiled with mpi, so I use “gmx mdrun”.
First of all, which is the proper way to run a simulation in parallel? I have read the manual that you can specify -ntomp (OpenMP) and -ntmpi (thread-MPI) but I don’t get excactly the difference.
If I want to run on more than 1 node is the compilation with mpi mandatory?
Finally, I tried to run in 1 node a rather big system (10.000 atoms) using:
$ gmx mdrun -deffnm “tpr”
Choosing 8 cores I get an error that “an atom moved too far between two domain decompositions”.
Increasing the number of cores the error is “there is no domain decomposition for x ranks that is compatible with the given box”. How can I fix these problems? It has to do with choosing the proper parallelization, right?
Thank you in advance.

Hi,

First off, if you can, use a newer version of GROMACS, because your simulations will run much faster under all circumstances.

GROMACS uses different levels of parallelisation. Indeed, if you want to run on multiple nodes, there is no way around MPI.

However, you can often obtain quite reasonable performance already on single nodes. There, GROMACS tries to grab what it can, but you can fine-tune with -ntomp and -ntmpi.

The errors you get are more indicative of something off with the way you describe the physics of your system. 10.000 atoms is not that much for MD standards - did you run through all the initial steps with solvation, adding ions, energy minimisation, position-restraint equilibration, etc.?

Thanks for your reply.