Simulating a simple liquid with GROMACS

GROMACS version: 2020.5
GROMACS modification: No

Dear fellow GROMACS users,

I’m new to this. I have very low experience with molecular dynamics simulations. My original expertise is COSMO-RS, a semi-explicit molecular thermodynamic theory dealing with contact statistics between molecules.

However, I am interested in running MD simulations for complex liquids so that I can track aggregation phenomena, through radial distributions functions, Kirkwood-Buff integrals and so on. Then perhaps later I can use these MD simulations as inspiration and comparison to extend COSMO-RS theory.

Since Gromacs is installed on my university server, I decided that I would try making a simple liquid cyclohexane phase equilibration (NVT, and then NPT) at ambient temperature and pression conditions. Then I could calculate some RDF, and somme self-solvation energy, using the equilibrated phase, as an exercise. I tried to get help from the various tutorials and manuals that are available online, all the “get started” or “quick and dirty” pages I could find.

But the problem is: creating an input file for such a simple system seems to be far from trivial and even with all of that help I couldn’t get what I want.

So here is how I tried to start, from scratch.

I opened my dear Avogadro software and drew/equilibrated a nice cyclohexane molecule, which I saved as a .pdb file, which seems to be a compatible format for GROMACS. Now, I learned that I need a topology file which contains the molecular topology, and also the force field parameters for my molecule.

So, I tried to input this cyclohexane.pdb file into pdb2gmx, but it didn’t work. It seems strange to me, but the simple cyclohexane molecule seems to not be found in the Gromacs database.