Gromacs geometry setup

GROMACS version:2022_4
GROMACS modification: Yes/No
I am relatively new to gromacs. I am trying to compare the dynamics of a solvated polymer in a confined geometry. (vertical rigid neutral interaction walls and lateral ceramic substrate) The three walls will interact with the polymer in a non-bonded interaction. I would like to group the substrate (1) and the two walls (2,3) to depict the geometry confinement and freeze them. So they are interacting with the polymer in a non-bonded interaction.

I have the .gro file generated for the whole system but I am not sure how to group them in the .mdp file. Also, how do I enter the following pair-wise interactions ;
left-wall-polymer, right-wall-polymer and substrate-polymer.

Appreciate any suggestions or pointers,
Thanks

Hi, do you mean physical walls (i.e. the structure is in some .gro/.pdb file) or ideal walls (which you can setup with nwall>0 in the .mdp file)? What do you mean by “grouping” them in the .mdp file?

Hi, Yes, The walls are made graphite layers on either side and is in a .xyz format.

Currently,I have set this up as a .gro file. I am not sure how to specify the interactions between region 1 and 2 and 1 and 3. Hence, I was thinking I should group them separately. Is there a way to specify this in the topology file?

Hi,
You can define different atomtypes and moleculetype for regions 1, 2 and 3. You can either specify the non-bonded interactions between different atom types or specify the combination rules to automatically generate them in defaults. Have a look here: https://manual.gromacs.org/current/reference-manual/topologies/topology-file-formats.html

P.S. I would suggest using ideal walls together with substrate 1 in the vertical (z) direction to prevent molecules from going over the periodic direction.