How to use output from PRODRG

GROMACS version: 2018.3
GROMACS modification: No

I am studying protein-ligand interactions, and my question has two parts which may be related:

1. To get an .itp file for my ligand, I submitted its .pdb file to PRODRG server (since I am using Gromos forcefield), and I guess I should use DRGGMX.pdb and DRGGMX.itp.

How do I use the output files from PRODRG for Gromacs simulations?
I did editconfig to convert the DRGGMX.pdb into .gro, and then copied the content into the protein.gro
Then I added some lines to .top file about the ligand. Is this the right approach?

1. How should I incorporate AutoDock result in the process?
    I tried running AutoDock to get my ligand’s best binding location before and after using PRODRG server. In both cases, creating a simulation box resulted in complete dissociation or weird structure of the ligand.

Don’t use PRODRG. Its topologies are demonstrably bad. https://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/ci100335w

Use ATB instead.

Preserving the ligand coordinates from the docked pose is sufficient for starting the simulation. Follow the general procedure at http://www.mdtutorials.com/gmx/complex/index.html

If the ligand is dissociating from proper starting coordinates, that means the ligand topology was bad. If you’re using PRODRG, that’s probably the reason (see the paper linked above).

1 Like

Thank you.

I tried using ATB to create .itp file for my AutoDock-ed ligand.
Then I tried combining it with my protein into one .gro file.

I found the position of the ligand to be different from that was calculated by AutoDock.
Does that mean I should create .itp file for the ligand before I run AutoDock simulation?

And, does an .itp file contain coordinate information? I guess it doesn’t?