Measuring bilayer thickness

GROMACS version:2018.4
GROMACS modification: No
I have a question. What do you use most when you try to measure the width of the membrane. I used three methods:

1. For phospholipids I create electron density profiles for the phosphor group and check the distance, but I also hear that people use only phosphorus atoms, not phosphorus group, so which is better?
  2. For glycolipids I create electron density for lipids and water and check in which place these two profiles cross and I measure a distance between them.
    Is it ok?

This is more in the lipid simulation domain than a Gromacs question. In my experience the measurement used is arbitrary. Just try to be consistent, and report exactly how you measure. If you need to compare with another publication, use their measurement system to the closest approximation you can.

Slightly dated now, but maybe this is useful

As Kevin writes, it is somewhat arbitrary. This is stuff I did a lot already as a PhD student (sadly a LONG time ago), and it gets even more complex for large membrane systems where you start to have undulations, i.e. “waves” that propagate/oscillate through the system.

If you want to define local thickness, one of the best options (IMHO) is to simply define a specific atom in the lipids and measure from that one. Ideally you should pick one that doesn’t fluctuate too much, such as the carbon connecting the head with the tails. This is easy to calculate and average, even close to a membrane protein, and it will have the advantage that the local thickness should be the same as the size of the system grows, since you don’t average over the entire system. However, it can have issues e.g. if you have mixtures of several different types of lipids (since there might not be obviously corresponding atoms), not to mention you won’t have any obvious experimental correspondence to the specific thickness.