Problem with energy exclusion groups using gmx mdrun -membed

GROMACS version: 2021
GROMACS modification: No

Dear all,

I have been trying to insert a protein into a preequilibrated membrane using the gmx mdrun -membed option. Most of it seems to be fine but I keep getting these two messages:

Warning 1:
The number of growth steps (-nxy + -nz) is larger than the number of steps in the tpr.
(increase maxwarn in the membed input file to override)

Program: gmx mdrun, version 2021.1
Source file: src/gromacs/mdlib/membed.cpp (line 1248)

Input error or input inconsistency:
No energy exclusion groups defined. This is necessary for energy exclusion in
the freeze group

To be honest, I am pretty new to MD, so I don’t quite understand the first one. I guess my .mdp file, as it does not contain any nsteps (as the .dat file for -membed shoudl take care of this, or so I understand) gives that error, but I think it should not be important.

The second one I cannot understand it at all. My .mdp file does contain energy exclusion groups with the same name they appear in the index.ndx file:

Here the .mdp:

integrator = md
energygrps = PROTEIN
freezegrps = PROTEIN
freezedim = Y Y Y
energygrp_excl = PROTEIN PROTEIN

Here the selection in the terminal when running -membed based on the index.ndx file:

Select a group to embed in the membrane:
Group 0 ( System) has 51585 elements
Group 1 ( PROTEIN) has 3519 elements
Group 2 ( SOLVENT) has 42050 elements
Group 3 ( MEMBRANE) has 6016 elements
Select a group: 1
Selected 1: ‘PROTEIN’

Select a group to embed PROTEIN into (e.g. the membrane):
Group 0 ( System) has 51585 elements
Group 1 ( PROTEIN) has 3519 elements
Group 2 ( SOLVENT) has 42050 elements
Group 3 ( MEMBRANE) has 6016 elements
Select a group: 3
Selected 3: ‘MEMBRANE’

Any idea why this might be happening? Any advice would me much appreciated.

Thank you!

Kind regards,

Dr Mario López

Hi

this old post may be useful