Question from umbrella sampling

GROMACS version: 2022
GROMACS modification: No

hi everyone. i am a beginner PhD student in the field of md simulation and want to use umbrella sampling to study the permeation of my nanoparticle through a membrane. my system contains “ions, water, nanoparticle and membrane”
i prepared 2 groups in my index file: (1) nano | (2) other (contain membrane, water and ion). is it correct as i just want to pull my nanoparticle?

so is this pulling code in my mdp file ok or i should modify it?

; Pull code
pull = yes
pull_ncoords = 1 ; only one reaction coordinate
pull_ngroups = 2 ; two groups defining one reaction coordinate
pull_group1_name = other
pull_group2_name = nano
pull_coord1_type = umbrella ; harmonic potential
pull_coord1_geometry = direction ; simple distance increase
pull_coord1_vec = 0 0 1
pull_coord1_dim = N N Y
pull_coord1_groups = 1 2
pull_coord1_start = yes ; define initial COM distance > 0
pull_coord1_rate = -0.01 ; 0.01 nm per ps = 10 nm per ns
pull_coord1_k = 1000 ; kJ mol^-1 nm^-2

thank you for your consideration.

If you want to pull a nanoparticle through a membrane, you should not pull on everything else.

You should use:
pull_group1_name = membrane
pull_group2_name = nano
pull_coord1_geometry = cylinder

But a nanoparticle sounds too large to get good sampling for. In addition your setup currently does steered MD, not umbrella sampling. It might be good to look at a tutorial first.

dear hess,
thank you for your reply.
you are right i first wanted to do SMD, and then umbrella sampling.
i am simulating my self-assembled nanoparticles first which have about 3nm diameter. my membrane has 4 nm thickness. do you think that this condition may not a have good sampling result? so what should i do?

i modified my code in such way: is it good?

; Pull code
pull = yes
pull_ncoords = 1 ; only one reaction coordinate
pull_ngroups = 2 ; two groups defining one reaction coordinate
pull_group1_name = membrane