Performing coarse grained simulation on protein alone

GROMACS version: 2018.3
GROMACS modification: Yes/No

Hi gmx users,

To introduce myself, I perform all-atom AMBER MD on proteins. This is my first attempt into the gromacs and coarse graining domain. I wish to perform coarse graining simulation on individual protein systems (without any ligand). My objective is to CG simulate the protein long enough to check if there are any major conformational changes happening over an extended period of time (2-3 microseconds).
I have been reading a lot about coarse graining but I’m confused because I didn’t find relevant information on performing coarse graining on individual monomeric proteins. I have successfully installed the above mentioned version of gromacs though.
Please let me know if this can be done. If yes then where should I start or find a decent tutorial/protocol for doing that.

Thank you all in advance.

http://cgmartini.nl/index.php/tutorials-general-introduction-gmx5/proteins-gmx5

Hi @jalemkul and others,
Thanks, the tutorial was very helpful. I was able to successfully carry out each step till the production run using the sample files.
I have one question though. As I stated earlier, I wish to perform an extended production run of 2 microseconds. Usually in all atom MD simulation, I tweak the ‘nstlim’ in the production-input file to achieve that. I tried to do the same here in the dynamic.mdp file. I changed the nsteps to 70000000 (and dt=0.03ps), which would give me a simulation time of 2.1 microsecond. However, when I execute the production run using the ‘gmx mdrun -deffnm dynamic -v’ command, it still runs only for the default 3000000 steps. What am I doing wrong here?
Thanks for your help in advance.

Did you re-generate the TPR? Changing the mdp options won’t do anything if you use the old tpr file.

Hi @kevinboyd
Yes, I did.