Gas-phase MD simulations, switch off PME and Coulomb/Lennard-Jones cut-offs set to infinity

GROMACS version: 2022

I wish to perform gas-phase MD simulations on a large protein structure and monitor it at increasing temperatures. I have never done gas-phase simulations before, especially with GROMACS. I believe, for GPU-accelerated gas phase simulations in Gromacs, a Pseudo-PBC approach must be used.

How can I switch off PME? at which stage and which parameter I need to edit in order to switch it off. Also, how can the PBC box dimensions be increased to the maximum allowed value ? Coulomb and Lennard-Jones cutoffs also need to be set to large values? or can I make it infinite? If so, where (which file) can I input/edit these parameters. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Hi,

There is no special setting for vacuum simulation in GROMACS. You can perform a vacuum simulation by setting your protein in a very large box and running using an NVT ensemble.

The option ‘coulombtype’ in the mdp file allows you to define the setting for the electrostatic interaction (PME vs cut-off). Note that the non-bonded interaction setting usually is link to the force field parameterization, and usually biomolecule force fields are not parameterized for vacuum simulations.
Here a post on similar topic How to simulate protein in vacuum in Gromacs 2021.4
I hope it helps

\Alessandra

Thanks for your kindly reply.

when simulate in vacuum, you mean I just need to put the protein in a very large box?
Should I add counter ions to neutralize the system?(If so, what types of atom should I select to be replaced with counter ions? there is only protein in the system, even no waters.)

\Changji

Hi,

when simulate in vacuum, you mean I just need to put the protein in a very large box?

Yes. I mean to set the protein in the center of a very large box (filled by nothing).

\Alessandra

Hi Alevilla,